The Bangers – Baby, Let Me Bang Your Box (Hard to Find 45’s)

I recently posted a relatively unknown novelty 45 from the 1950’s called “Oliver Cool” by Oliver Cool, so consider this a sister-post. “Baby Let Me Bang Your Box” is another classic – and rare – novelty 45 from 1954, originally recorded by the Pittsburgh group, The Bangers.

If you can’t tell from the suggestive title, the song is about sex, and it’s explicit double entendres were incredibly controversial for 1954. The song quickly became a cult hit, and was later covered by acts such as Billy Ward, The Dominoes, and The Hot Nuts.

The Banger’s record was released on the R&B Label, #65-101. The 101 would indicate that it’s the first (and maybe only) release, and the label (see the photo) says it’s from the LP “Baby, Let Me Bang Your Box.” It was distributed by Tulsa’s Hit City USA.

To this day, “Baby Let Me Bang Your Box” is a hot item for collectors and vinyl enthusiasts, especially due to the folklore and mythicism around “Baby Let Bang Your Box.” Besides the rarity of “Baby Let Me Bang Your Box,” there is no information or historical records of The Bangers, their label, or distributor beyond the information on the actual record.

LISTEN TO Baby, Let Me Bang Your Box by The Bangers

“Well my baby had a party the other night
The party was gettin’ dead
I spied a piano in the corner
Looked at my baby and said

Baby let me bang your box, baby let me bang your box
Baby let me play your eighty-eight
I’m gonna bang ’til the whole house rocks

When I was young, they called me Piano Bill
When I was young, they called me Piano Bill
‘Cause I played so fine, I gave everybody a thrill

Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me play your eighty-eight
Gonna play ’til the whole house rocks

I’ve been bangin’ since I was a kid of four
I’ve been bangin’ since I was a kid of four
I’ve been bangin’ ’til I can’t bang no more

Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me play your eighty-eight
Gonna play ’til the whole house rocks

I’ve been playin’ piano, large and small
But you got the best piano of all
I played everyone in the neighbourhood
I never played one that sounds so good
I’ve got a shuffle, a back beat, a boogie woogie too
But when I play my jelly roll you won’t know what to do

Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me bang your box
Baby let me play your eighty-eight
Gonna play ’til the whole house rocks

Bang, bang, bang Mister Bill, bang, bang, bang Mister Bill
Bang, oh-oh, bang Mister Bill
Gee but you give me a thrill
(Bang, bang, bang Mister Bill)
Bang, oh-oh, bang Mister Bill
Gee but you give me a thrill
(Bang, bang, bang Mister Bill)
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh, oh-oh, oh-oh-oh-oh”

E.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Bangers – Baby, Let Me Bang Your Box (Hard to Find 45’s)”
  1. Jake says:

    My fave version of this song is by the Australian band, Daddy Cool.

  2. Cleftonefan says:

    Bangers’ recording was from 1965. Original recording was by theToppers. The real writers are Wyche and McRae.

  3. Bengt Widman says:

    I secund that
    Toppers – Baby Let Me Bang Your Box / Your Laughing Because I’m Crying – Jubilee 5136 – 1954
    There is a third by Doug Clark and The Hot Nuts, 1966, Jubilee 5536

Leave a Reply

